Millets are a group of highly variable small-seeded grasses widely grown around the world as cereal crops or grains for human food and fodder. Millets are important crops in the semiarid tropics of Asia and Africa especially in India, Mali, Nigeria, with 97% of millet production in developing countries. The crop are favored due to their productivity and short growing season under dry, high-temperature conditions. Millets are indigenous to many parts of the world. The most widely grown millet is pearl millet, which is an important crop in India and parts of Africa. Finger millet, proso millet, and foxtail millet are also important crop species. Millets may have been consumed by humans for about 7,000 years and potentially had "a pivotal role in the rise of multi-crop agriculture and settled farming societies. Millet crops like ragi, korra, sama and gantelu used to be staple crops in earlier days as part of the food and nutrition security of the tribal people. The State government is implementing a comprehensive project for revival of millet cultivation by tribals in north Coastal Andhra and parts of Rayalaseema. Andhra Pradesh government have launched special programmes to promote these Nutri cereals by keeping millets board The objective is to promote millet food tradition across all levels and help people drive home the message of long-term benefits of including power-packed millets in the diet. There is a need for a paradigm shift in agriculture and food consumption to arrest malnutrition. Millets like finger millet (ragi), foxtail millet (korra), and little millet (saama) are rich in minerals, proteins, fibre, and vitamins, and play a role in boosting our immune system and can replace rice and wheat in our diet.” Andhra Pradesh having an area of 1.77 lakh ha under major millets Andhra Pradesh having an area of 0.45 lakh ha under minor millets Major Millets: Jowar & Bajra Minor Millets (Nutri Cereals): Ragi, Korra, Andu Korralu, Variga, Ooda Sama

In Andhra Pradesh Nine different millet crops are cultivated.They are

  1. Ragi (Chodi/Thaida/Finger millet)
  2. Korra (Italian millet/Foxtail millet)
  3. Variga (Proso millet/common millet)
  4. Sama (Little millet)
  5. Arika (Kodo millet)
  6. Ooda (Barn yard millet) and
  7. Andukorra (Brown top millet)
  8. Jowar (Sorghum/Jonna/Great millet)
  9. Bajra (Sajja/Ganti/Pearl millet/Bulrush millet / Cat tail millet)